#848 403 Authentication failed error when using ProjectHaystack.client nuget package

Indumathi Anbumani Fri 14 Aug 2020

Hi,

I am new to using ProjectHaystack.client .net NuGet Package. I have a running server with haystackVersion 3.0. Iam trying to use the ProjectHaystack.Client v1.4.1 nuget package to connect to my server and get some response for testing. But currently having a hard time with the auth.

First I tried using Restsharp to hit the server and were able to get successful response with the below code

var client = new RestClient("http://myServer/haystack/about");

var request = new RestRequest(Method.GET);

client.Authenticator = new HttpBasicAuthenticator("myUser", "myPass");

IRestResponse restResponse = client.Execute(request);

IRestResponse response = restResponse;

Console.WriteLine($"Result:\n{response.Content}");

When I try to do something similar like above by using the HClient or HAsyncClient method by using the below code I keep getting HTTP ERROR: 403 "Authentication failed."

var uri = "http://myServer/haystack/";

HClient hsClient = HClient.Open(uri, "myUser", "myPass");

Dictionary<string, string> searchParams = new Dictionary<string, string>();

string result = hsClient.GetString("about", searchParams, "application/json", "application/json");

Console.WriteLine($"Result:\n{result}");

My stack trace:

at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.GetResponse()
at ProjectHaystack.Auth.AuthClientContext.Get(HttpWebRequest c)
at ProjectHaystack.Auth.AuthClientContext.GetAuth(AuthMsg msg)
at ProjectHaystack.Auth.AuthClientContext.SendHello()
at ProjectHaystack.Auth.AuthClientContext.Open()

ex.InnerException.Message: The remote server returned an error: (403) Authentication failed..

ex.Message: authenticate failed

In postman I am able to get successful output using Basic Authentication with myUser and myPass for the same uri "http://myServer/haystack/about" without any problem.