#543 Vibration as a common VFD point

Buddy Patton Thu 28 Sep 2017

Could we see vibration added as a new haystack standard tag for VFDs? It's common among all of my VFD equips that the spindle motor vibration has a sensor attached in an industrial setting.

ScottJ Boehm Thu 28 Sep 2017

Indeed vibration should be a tag, however it should not be limited to a VFD as other equipment has vibration sensors such as cooling towers, chillers, fans and other machines that are prone to self-destruction.

Brian Frank Fri 29 Sep 2017

How is it typically measured and with what unit(s)?

ScottJ Boehm Fri 29 Sep 2017

I'm no expert however what I've seen is an analog value expressed as inches/second as well as a simple binary value (true/false). Not familiar with industrial applications as Buddy suggests.

Jay Herron Fri 29 Sep 2017

I think this would be a good addition.

Buddy Patton Fri 29 Sep 2017

It's typically measured with a sensor hooked directly to the piece of equipment that needs to be monitored but the units can vary widely based on the importance of the vibration being measured. I believe the most common method of measurement is to measure the frequency (in Hz) but I've also seen where the actual distance is measured as in mm/s.

edit: I agree that this probably shouldn't be limited to VFDs

Jay Herron Thu 27 Aug 2020

Hey guys, we've encountered some vibration sensors in the field and stitched together a set of tags for modeling them that I wanted to propose here. The sensors we've seen have the following points, one for each axis X, Y, and Z:

• displacement
  • velocity root-mean-squared
  • acceleration root-mean-squared
  • acceleration peak
  • frequency

These are all computed using an accelerometer.

Proposal

To model these, I propose three new quantities:

• position: The position of an object in space in relation to an arbitrary reference point
  • velocity: The rate of change of the position of an object with respect to time