#1111 nHaystack Setup Issues

Eric Fish Mon 8 Apr

I was hoping someone could point me to some good resources to learn how to setup nHaystack that has some details regarding versions and compatibly. I realize these are very basic question, but I am new to all of this, and I am a little confused regarding all the different versions. I have seen multiple Tridium videos about how to setup tagging. I realize this is an evolving process. Tridium has its own tagging and there is nHaystack tagging, there is haystack tagging with SmartRefs and there is a NHaystackService. I apparently need the NHaystackService to act as a server for SkySpark, but I am running into issues while using with the latest NHaystackService Service View; it never seems to pull in what I thought it would.

I started with a Niagara N4 (N4.11.2) Jace that someone else loaded with the Haystack TagDictionaryService (3.0.2 N.2 w/ SmartRefs). I loaded the latest NHaystackService. I am guessing that the Haystack TagDictionaryService (3.0.2 N.2 w/ SmartRefs) is not compatible with the NHaystackService, it is a different version than the one packaged with the NHaystackService. If that is the case is there a NHaystackService that is compatible with the Haystack TagDictionaryService (3.0.2 N.2 w/ SmartRefs) or do I need to remove the Haystack TagDictionaryService (3.0.2 N.2 w/ SmartRefs) and add the one that came with NHaystackService? If I do this, will all the related tags from the Haystack TagDictionaryService (3.0.2 N.2 w/ SmartRefs) be removed? I know there's a lot here, but I have looked everywhere and can't seem to find an explanation or any sort of a comparability matrix or anything that is helpful.

Paul Quinn Tue 9 Apr

Eric, Probably not a short answer here. I think the first decision you need to make is if you are going to tag equipment and points inside Tridium or just tag inside SkySpark. I've integrated close to 200 Niagara buildings into SkySpark and not one has implemented tagging in Niagara.