#432 Is there a simple Haystack summary for point naming?

Brent Eubanks Thu 11 Aug 2016

I am in the process of writing a DDC programming specification for my company, which is an MEP consulting firm. I am interested in adopting Haystack for the purpose of a point structure/naming convention for the DDC Contractor to implement.

Is there a simple, relatively brief description of the Haystack convention that just addresses the naming of points? I'm looking for something that I could (ideally) paste directly into my spec, or adapt for inclusion in the spec.

I am new to Haystack but its scope appears to extend beyond just point naming. There's a lot too digest here and far to much to put in a spec, so I'm wondering if there is a relatively self-contained explanation of just the point naming convention.

Thanks!

Brent

Christian Tremblay Thu 11 Aug 2016

Haystack is there to solve the naming convention. But not by creating a naming convention.

Depending on the technology you use, you will not be able to use certain names, characters, length... etc....

Lon vs BACnet is a good example.... where in Lon everything has to begin by nvo, nvi, nci, etc... Not in BACnet where it's a real mess sometime...

And when you will face OEM devices with their own BACnet (or Lon) interface... point names cannot be changed...

I guess you can work on something and expect the majority of the points be named by a "certain" standard. But from experience, it will be a hard path.

Some manufacturers have their standard. I use one where every point use always the same kind of name... like DA-T (discharge air temperature), SF-C (supply fan command) but then again, if you mix with different devices... good luck. You can rename in a supervisory device point list... but the point names in the device will never change and it will make things harder when you will try to know what has been renamed how.

Actually, there is nothing broadly accepted as the way to go in naming convention.